Editorial ·

10th Anniversary Issue Volume 1, Number 1, 1987–Volume 10, Number 1, 1996

The first issue of 1996 is the 10th Anniversary Issue of the Journal of Orofacial Pain, originally named the Journal of Craniomandibular Disorders: Facial and Oral Pain. One of the main driving forces behind this important achievement was the energy and dedication of Joseph Gibilisco. Joe had long dreamed of a scholarly, multidisciplinary journal that would publish scientific articles in the field of orofacial pain and temporomandibular disorders. Joe quietly, yet persuasively, pressed for such a journal at every annual meeting and finally, with support from Harold Perry and others, the fruition of his dream came true. On June 11, 1986, Seymour Gross, representing the American Academy, and Rudolph Slavicek, representing the European Academy, signed the necessary contracts with Publisher H. W. Haase of the Quintessence Publishing Company.

Harold T. Perry was unanimously selected as the first Editorial Chairman by the officers and Interim Council of the American and European Academies of Craniomandibular Disorders on October 9, 1986. Peter J. Dyck, Bruce Sanders, and Arthur T. Storey were selected as supporting editors. Joseph A. Gibilisco was named the Associate Editor of the American Academy of Craniomandibular Disorders and Sandro Palla and Tore L. Hansson were named Associate Coeditors of the European Academy of Craniomandibular Disorders. The original Editorial Board was composed of Joseph A. Gibilisco, Tore L. Hansson, Charles McNeill, and Sandro Palla.

In the first issue of the journal, President Seymour Gross stated, "This inaugural issue of the official journal of the Academies of Craniomandibular Disorders represents the fulfillment of a professional need and an obligation of our Academies: the support of a journal stressing research and current studies on craniomandibular disorders." Harold Perry stated in his first editorial, "We proudly proclaim the editorial objectives to publish prevailing research and clinical material of the behavioral, dental, and medical sciences directly or indirectly addressing craniomandibular disorders, facial and oral pain. . . We must be able to modify and to mold new information into potentially positive benefits for our educational methods and for our patient's welfare." Fittingly, the contents of the first issue were compiled from the Head and Face Pain Symposium jointly sponsored by the Mayo Clinic, the Mayo Foundation, and the American Academy of Craniomandibular Disorders. The meeting was organized and conducted by Joe Gibilisco, Professor and Director of the Department of Dentistry at Mayo Clinic, who then edited the material for the first issue. That inaugural issue is still one of the best references in the literature on orofacial pain and headache.

Later Eric K. Milliner, Antoon De Laat, and Ralph G. Merrill were appointed as additional editors to the journal, and Stuart L. Davidson was added to the Editorial Board. In 1993, the name of the journal was officially changed to the Journal of Orofacial Pain to correspond with the 1992 name change of the Academy. Today, the journal continues to strive for excellence with the continued support of the Publisher, Mr H. W. Haase, and the invaluable help from Associate Publisher Tomoko Tsuchiya, Director of Journal Publications Lori A. Bateman, and Manuscript Editor Debbie M. Landers. I also want to recognize the tireless efforts of Antoon De Laat, Assistant Editor, who oversees all the European manuscripts. Abstract Editors Donald A. Seligman, Charles S. Greene, and Jan De Boever, and Statistical Consultant Peter C. O'Brien. Lastly, I would like to express my heart-felt gratitude to all the reviewers who have given so willingly of their time and expertise to make the journal the scholarly and scientific publication that it has become. Their names appear in the last issue of each year. We all are committed to follow in the giant footsteps of the inaugural Editorial Chairman, Harold T. Perry,

of Well

Charles McNeill, DDS Editorial Chairman