The Review Process (The One Constant is Change)

am extremely excited and proud to announce that the journal is presently undergoing an important evolutionary change. Dr Barry Sessle, dean of the University of Toronto School of Dentistry, has agreed to take over the reins of the journal as editorial chairman starting July 1, 1997. He will be ably assisted by four very exceptionally qualified associate editors who will be introduced in the next issue of the journal. I will continue as editorial chairman for those manuscripts submitted before July 1; those submitted after that date will be handled by Barry Sessle and the new associate editors. In the next issue I will elaborate on the outstanding attributes and qualifications of the new editorial board.

As I prepare to step down, I recall the legacy of this journal and those who helped give it prominence in the field of TMD and orofacial pain. The first publications committee, chaired by Ioe Gibilisco, and the inaugural editorial chairman, Harold Perry, together established the working platform for the journal (originally named the Journal of Craniomandibular Disorders, Facial and Oral Pain) and gave it credibility. The review process was put into place and the journal began to flourish.

Today the Journal of Orofacial Pain has evolved into the premier journal in its field, primarily as a result of the quality of its peer-review process. I am particularly proud of the efforts of all of the reviewers on behalf of the journal over the last 4 years; I will be forever grateful not only for their willingness to serve, but for their knowledge, wisdom, and dedication both to the journal and to the profession. The journal recognizes these efforts each year by listing all reviewers in the fourth issue.

I would like to make special mention of a few reviewers whose contributions far exceeded what was asked of them. I know that, by singling out a few from a large list of excellent reviewers, I risk offending some who have worked diligently for the journal. Please understand that in no way do I mean to detract from the reviewers not mentioned here, who were also crucial to the success of the journal; however, I feel compelled to recognize the herculean efforts of a few who have helped improve its scientific quality

First, I must point out that Antoon DeLaat, associate editor, has worked tirelessly. As the European editor, he has been essential to the journal's increased stature. His orchestration of the review process in

Europe has so increased the quantity and quality of manuscripts that the journal now leads international publications in its field. Chuck Greene, abstract editor, has worked extremely hard both reviewing manuscripts and selecting and writing abstracts of significant books and articles in our field. Don Seligman warrants special mention for his unselfish and relentless efforts on behalf of so many authors whose first language is not English. Don also enthusiastically reviewed an unusually large number of manuscripts. His patience, care, and support brought grateful responses from authors all over the world who felt that the process had helped them better understand scientific methodology. Also, Jim Guinn reviewed a large number of manuscripts in a very scholarly and timely fashion. He never refused to review a manuscript and always made pertinent and significant contributions.

I would like to thank Jerry Ballard, Thuan Dao, Stephen Harkins, Kevin Reid, Eric Schiffman, and Per-Lennart Westesson for their outstanding contributions as reviewers. Not only did they review many manuscripts, they often so improved them as to make them acceptable for publication. Also, I would like to thank Yoshinori Kobayashi and Kouichi Wajima for help with manuscripts from Asia, and Tom Wilkinson for his help with manuscripts from Australia and Asia. Last, I would like to thank some of the health professionals in other disciplines for their help in the review process, namely Linda LeResche, Eric Milliner, and John Rugh with psychosocial and behavioral manuscripts; Art Miller with neurophysiology and muscle pain manuscripts; Patty Rudd with cervical and upper-quarter-related manuscripts; and Lori Reisner with manuscripts dealing with pharmacotherapy.

Thanks to everyone who has contributed in so many ways to our success. Without you we would not have become the prestigious journal of which we all are so proud. And now we will move on to a higher plateau with our new editorial leadership. Congratulations to all!

Charles McNeill, DDS Editorial Chairman

Copyright of Journal of Orofacial Pain is the property of Quintessence Publishing Company Inc. and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.